• In​dependent Home School

    Parents may home school their own children pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated § 49-6-3050 by registering with their local school district. The law states that independent home school students must:

    • “Provide annual notice to the local director of schools prior to each school year of the parent-teacher’s intent to conduct a home school and, for the purpose of reporting only, submission to the director of schools of the names, number, ages and grade levels of the children to be home schooled, the location of the school, the proposed curriculum to be offered, the proposed hours of instruction and the qualifications of the parent-teacher”;
    • Maintain attendance records and submit these records to the Director of Schools at the end of each school year; and
    • Submit proof of vaccination and receipt of any health services or examinations as required by law.

    Parents choosing this educational option should begin by contacting the local school district. For a list of home school contacts in each school district, click on "Home School Coordinators" (gray box on right side of this page). The parent will be required to complete an Intent to Home School form and provide evidence of a high school diploma or GED. Student attendance (at least 4 hours per day, 180 days per year) must be reported to the local school district at the end of the school year. Testing of independent home school students is required in grades 5, 7, and 9 and coordinated through the local school district.

    Home Schooling in Tennessee

    In Tennessee, parents have the option to educate their children at home, an option known as homeschooling or home education.

    Parents in Tennessee may choose to home school their own children in grades K - 12. The Tennessee Home School law (Tennessee Code Annotated § 49-6-3050) states:"A home school is a school conducted or directed by a parent or parents or a legal guardian or guardians for their own children."

    Independent Home School

    Parents may home school their own children pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated § 49-6-3050 by registering with their local school district. The law states that independent home school students must:

    • “Provide annual notice to the local director of schools prior to each school year of the parent-teacher’s intent to conduct a home school and, for the purpose of reporting only, submission to the director of schools of the names, number, ages and grade levels of the children to be home schooled, the location of the school, the proposed curriculum to be offered, the proposed hours of instruction and the qualifications of the parent-teacher”; no later than the first week of August. Maintain attendance records and submit these records to the Director of Schools at the end of each school year no later than June 1st; and
    • Submit proof of vaccination and receipt of any health services or examinations as required by law.

    Parents choosing Independent Home School should begin by contacting the local school district, 865-463-2800 x 2826. The parent will be required to complete Intent to Home School form and provide evidence of a high school diploma or GED. Student attendance (at least 4 hours per day, 180 days per year) must be reported to the local school district at the end of the school year no later than June 1st. Testing of independent home school students is required in grades 5, 7, and 9 and coordinated through the local school district. All Independent Home School students will test at their zoned school.

    Requirements

    Grades K-8

    Grades 9-12

    Parent's Education

    High School Diploma or GED

    High School Diploma or GED

    Registration

    With local school system prior to each school year

    *By August 3rd

    With local school system prior to each school year

    *By August 3rd

    Attendance

    4 hours per day, 180 days per year

    4 hours per day, 180 days per year

    Please bring the following:

    Valid photo ID,

    Proof of Residency,

    Copy of Parent/Guardian’s Education (GED, High School Diploma, College Degree

    Valid photo ID,

    Proof of Residency,

    Copy of Parent/Guardian’s Education (GED, High School Diploma, College Degree

    Testing

    In grades 5 and 7, same state board approved secure standardized tests required of public school students -

    In grade 9 same state board approved secure standardized tests required of public school students but NOT the high school proficiency test

    Location and Cost of Testing

    In the local public school which the student would otherwise attend at no charge OR by a professional testing service at parent’s expense

    In the local public school which the student would otherwise attend at no charge OR by a professional testing service at parent’s expense -

    Test Sanctions

    1 year or more below grade level for 2 years in a row, superintendent MAY require parents to enroll child in public or private school (unless child is learning disabled)

    1 year or more below grade level for 2 years in a row, superintendent MAY require parents to enroll child in public or private school (unless child is learning disabled)

    Enter or Re-Enter Public or Approved Private School

    Must be tested for grade placement

    Must be tested in each subject for credit toward graduation

    High School Diploma or Certificate of Attendance

    None provided - Parent creates

    None provided - Parent creates

    - See more at: https://www.tn.gov/education/topic/home-schooling-in-tn

    2020-2021 Attendance Calendar Home School
    Tennessee Notice of Intent to Homeschool
    Independent Homeschool in Tennessee Parent Responsibility 2019-2020 Homeschool Options Comparison Sheet
    CHURCH-RELATED (SATELLITE) SCHOOL REGISTRATION FORM
    Non-public Schools 2019-2020 
    On-Line School Registration Form Cat 3.